I knew a bird of majestic wings,

Who tied his life with invisible strings,

And now he walks in a narrow cage,

Confined,a prisoner,

In bars of rage.

It’s so frustrating!

For he has the key

But cannot fly,

Cannot be free.

And I bear his pain,

For each week,

I walk past this cage,

Yet do not speak.

With blind eyes,

I see in darkness decaying,

This precious bird,

Now frail and swaying.

I have got to help him!

I know I must…

But with the slightest touch,

He turns to dust.

I hold the ashes in one hand,

Now I know,

Now I understand.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

