Today is where your book begins

Whenever I walk my dog in the morning I always listen to upbeat songs and it really gets me feeling happy and motivated for the day.So today as I was walking my dog the song unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield came on and it is one of my favourites despite being a cheesy pop ballad. One of the lyrics is:

“Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten”

I think it can be interpreted as being able to express yourself and live life to the fullest. YOU can change your life, in the end it is in your hands. Your cannot always change your circumstances but you can adjust your mind-set and make the best of each situation as it comes. Choose to view set backs as learning opportunities. A set back can be a set up for a even bigger come back.

“I break tradition, sometimes my tries, are outside the lines
We’ve been conditioned to not make mistakes, but I can’t live that way”

I think this is about giving yourself permission to not be perfect and accepting that you will make mistakes and that’s part of life .Accept responsibility for your mistakes but dont let that stop you living life.Also do not be afraid to think outside of the box and be different. You are only confined by the walls you put up for yourself.

“Reaching for something in the distance
So close you can almost taste it
Release your inhibitions”

Don’t be afraid to try just because you fear failure. Don’t let fear stop you.

Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in”

I kind of interpret this as allowing yourself to feel emotions. It’s ok to be sad its part of being human. Also that you are in charge of your own happiness and responsible for yourself.

“No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips”

Not being afraid to speak up for yourself and others. Not whining/complaining about things you make no effort to change.

So yah this song may be cheesy and overly-sentimental but I think it is very relevant to recovery and life is general.Its actually empowering to realise you can be whoever you want to be. Other people can offer you advice but in the end it is up to you to make your own decisions and to choose what is right for you.

Displaying IMG_20160126_073735.jpgImage result for your life is a blank page

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

